San Francisco Int’l Asian American Film Festival (part 1)

festival banner

SFIAAFF banner

I left my home in Brooklyn about 5 AM and was anxious about whether I could arrive in SFO on time.  Luckily, I arrived on time around 11 AM PST and pick up by Zoe at the SFO.  The weather in SF is much warmer than NYC.   On the way to the Sundance Kabuki Theater, I saw green trees and spring flowers blooming. 

At the Sundance Kabuki Theater, I met Prof. Elaine Kim who is also presenting her short film, “Slaying the Dragon Reloaded” before my film.  The screening started on time around 12:45 PM.  During the screening, when Jack Cardiff, film director who worked with Anna in 1920s, talked about his experience of working with her in her first talkie film, audience seemed emotionally responded.     The Q&A was hosted by Julie Hwang who happened to have the same last name in Chinese character with Anna.   I briefly talked about how I got interested in Anna and how it all started.  I received several questions from the audience;  Whether Anna considered herself playing lead role in broadway version of “Flower Drum Song”, Where I found source materials for the documentary, questions about her letters etc.

After the screening, I ran into Don Young at the CAAM who has been supportive of the documentary since I received a mentorship from the CAAM in 2004.  

Prof. Elaine Kim and me before the screening at the Sundance kabuki theater

 

audience is waiting outside Sundance Kabuki theater

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

