Pusan Int’l Film Festival (Part 3- October 23)

After the festival was over by 15th, I went up to Seoul, spending few days with my family and friends.  I just got back to New York a few days ago from Korea.  Still jetlagged with waking up early in the morning, going over unanswered e-mails,  I am trying to make sense of my trip to the PIFF…  The last time I was there was about twelve years ago.  My feature script, ‘Monday’ was selected for Korean project in the PPP(Pusan Promotion Plan) section of the festival.  It was the first time the PPP was launched. 

After finishing three more documentaries and twelve years fastforward, I was in Pusan again.  The festival, itself, has changed a lot in terms of its scope and people who are working for.  I must admit that twelve years is a long time to compare.  The big change to me is that filmmakers, especially Korean filmmakers, are much younger than the filmmakers twelve years ago.  Most of the Korean filmmakers in their 20s and 30s.  There were some Korean filmmakers in their 40s, like me.   I didn’t have much time to see other films in the festival because the nature of being an independent filmmaker promoting her own film…

The festival itself is trying to accommodate changing technology and its society.  There was a booth of iPhone filmmaking contest.   I also noticed that many people are using iPhones.    The festival  was the last one for its director, Mr. Kim Dongho who has been working at the festival at the inception of 1996.   There was a farwell party for him on October 14th, Thursday.  It was a really big gathering.  I saw many Korean filmmakers and well-known actors.  Oliver Stone of the Wall Street II was there, too.  The PIFF will continue its 16th festival next year with a new festival director. 

For me, I’m hoping that the exposure in the PIFF will help me to show the documentary to other festivals and meet its audiences.  My daughter thinks that I just started…

yunah is at the CGV Centum City 2 theater.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

